D6 Online 3.0
munkieboi

Idea for a MtA-like magic system. Suggestions?

So for the fantasy setting I'm working on I wanted magic to be super versatile like mage the awakening's system where with the right skills and enough knowledge you can do anything. But since I'm still new to d6 system I could use some suggestions on how or if I should proceed. 

I know I'd have to put some limitations in place to keep the magic users from being to dominate like higher target numbers or slower casting times depending on how powerful the effect attempted is, ect.

If anyone has any input or knows of something similar they could point out I'd appreciate it. 

In the book "Magic & Miracles", I touch upon 3 different magic systems.  

One is like the "Vancian" magic from D&D in that the magic user must memorize the spell, then retains it until they use it.  They can only memorize a certain number of spells, and only cast spells equal to the amount of dice in the Magic special attribute.

One is Faith, which I use for various religious or nature-based powers (like Druids or high-level Rangers).  They "pray" for whatever gives them their power to grant them the ability to bring about a spell.  They simply roll their Prayer dice vs. the difficulty of whatever they are praying for.  So praying for fire to light a torch might be easy, but praying to heal someone who lost an arm might be much more difficult.  And praying to resurrect a dead person might be significantly more challenging to do, and likely not achievable by low-skilled characters (barring a ridiculous die roll with the Wild Die).