D6 Online 3.0
rKinson

Software Testers Required

Hello :-)

I am a retired programmer and an active tabletop RPG player and referee since the late 1970's - mainly D&D and Traveller.

After many years developing Java backends, I am free to develop whatever interests me and I have decided to develop an application which enables people to create RPG campaigns and adventures, plus hold gaming sessions using peer to peer networked sessions. As an ex-professional developer, I am aware that this is a big task however I have the time, skills and experience to take this project on and deliver it iteratively. Rather than pottering around the garden (which is a very pleasant way to spend a retirement) I want to spend my days building this.

I have decided to use the OpenD6 rules because I like the rules and as they are open sourced, I can legally use them. I don't want to create my own rule system, just code an application that uses an existing rule system. The application will be free to download and use. This I see as my contribution to the OpenD6 community. I will also be producing a programming course that teaches people how this application has been developed, which will help to fill a strange void in the JavaFX tutorial world as there is a dearth of high quality tutorials detailing how to use complex JavaFX applications. That will be my contribution to the programming community.

I will be monetising this project tangentially by setting up active Patreon and Maker Support accounts at some point in the future.

I am looking for people who are willing to test each iterative release and provide bug reports and user feedback.

There will be a set of requirements - around ten to fifteen - that each release is intended to satisfy and these will need to be tested for compliance and reported on using a simple online form.

I need a set of people who use Windows, Mac and Linux operating systems.