D6 Online 3.0
Sign in to follow this  
Ryue359

Special ability / power restriction - decreasing attributes/skills

Hi

I'm relatively new to using D6 and did a few test games, before I went down the way to modify/create my own version of D6 (aka creating a game system that is using open D6 as core/base).

Now atm I'm trying to design a supernatural race which has a unique power. To come back from the dead with a downside attached to it. Namely that they grow weaker when they do so.

At its base I used immortality special ability (7 cp) from the open d6 core rules.

With that I'm quite happy (modified it a bit so that the resurrection is not instant and there are some ways to kill those who have this power).

So I ruled they come back within 3d6 days with 1 body point remaining and no wounds of any kinds on their bodies (thus all limbs back where they belong again). I added +2 cp there for that.

What I'm not so sure about though is the penalty of this power going active. Especially when it comes to the system paradigms.

In the horror systems I normally play in (as vampire, demon,....) or high supernatural games (gods) when something has the ability to come back then they permanently loose 1 point from their power stat. But there the whole system supports this and is built around that. Here I'm just not sure if such a thing is fitting.

Thus I'm currently contemplating which of 2 variants would be more fitting for D6:

1.) Whenever that being comes back it looses 1 pip of its extranormal attribute permanently. (5 CP limitation - based on burn out disadvantage with 1/2 of 9 points for the modified immortality)

2.) Whenever that being comes back it looses 1 pip of its extranormal attribute for 1 week. (2 CP limitation)

Now my questions are here:

1.) Would the first variant be fitting for D6? Or would it be more like variant 2? Or does it not matter at all?