Rerun941

Game Development 101

45 posts in this topic

I'm an outsider to this whole game design/game publishing thing. I'm basically an IT Project Manager in my day job, so I can tell you what it takes to design, build, test and implement a new IT system in a business. As well as some common problems/pitfalls these kind of projects encounter.

Can anyone give me the basics of how you go from "hey, I've got a great idea for a game" to getting it produced/published? What are the steps involved? What are some common problems/pitfalls? What are the roles of the various people involved? (designer, writer, editor, publisher, printer, etc.)

PS - I can also tell you the basics of what it takes to plan and execute the air portion of a military operation, but that's a whole other thread. :D

• Have an idea
  • Write the manuscript
  • Edit the manuscript
  • Revise the manuscript
  • Play through the manuscript
  • Have it edited by someone who is not you
  • Get the artwork done or do it yourself
  • Layout the book
  • Have layout looked over by someone who is not you
  • Find distribution (preferably more than one)
  • Get print quotes (lots of quotes from lots of people)
  • Print book
  • Ship book to distributors
  • Collect copious amounts of cash
  • Spend cash on giraffes, black market organs and mail order wives

• Have an idea
  • Write the manuscript
  • Edit the manuscript
  • Revise the manuscript
  • Play through the manuscript
  • Have it edited by someone who is not you
  • Get the artwork done or do it yourself
  • Layout the book
  • Have layout looked over by someone who is not you
  • Find distribution (preferably more than one)
  • Get print quotes (lots of quotes from lots of people)
  • Print book
  • Ship book to distributors
  • Collect copious amounts of cash
  • Spend cash on giraffes, black market organs and mail order wives

Yes.

However, these days, you might also consider:

[*]Layout the book

[*]Create a usable PDF